The art of moving on from one job to another is surprisingly uneventful.

Today was more of the same; provide assistance where needed and carry on as usual. This “downtime” has provided me the opportunity to reflect on what limited knowledge I have regarding digital marketing.

  1. You get credit when it’s due – sort of. Digital marketing is, in my experience, always given the lip service of a career that’s vital to the overall success of a company. Yet actions speak louder than words.
  2. I swear I don’t just handle social media. Perhaps the biggest eye-opener happened from my world outside of digital marketing. The standard, “What do you do for a living?” conversation has happened several times in my young career. When I say, “Digital marketing, content development and general internet stuff,” the instinctual response is, “Oh, so you manage the Facebook page?” I do, but there’s a much bigger component involved. I get people are feigning interest – maybe they really are – but sometimes I just let it be.
  3. Content is king, but we’re paid like a duke. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining about my salary or the companies I work for in the slightest. But this sort of goes back to the first post. Content strategy is given lip service about its importance, but when it comes time to pay up for the work…I’m sure there are other factors at play.

I’m looking forward to starting this new opportunity, not for the money but for the career growth. I’m a firm believer in always trying to learn new things and jump into new opportunities as they present themselves. But a caveat to learning is to always move forward, not back or a sidestep.

My last day is tomorrow. I get to enjoy the weekend, see some friends, and get cracking with the on-boarding process on Monday morning.

